Louisiana Social Security Disability
The Social Security Act defines disability as “the inability to perform in any substantial gainful activity by reason of any medically determinable physical or mental impairment(s) which is expected to result in death or which has lasted or can be expected to last for a continuous period of not less than 12 months.”
To determine if you are eligible for Social Security disability one must first contact the Disability Determination Services and file the necessary paperwork. In order to be eligible for Social Security disability the following are required:
- Applicant must have been employed and worked in an occupation covered by Social Security
- Applicant must be under 65 years old
- Applicant must be able to medically prove they are suffering from an injury preventing them from performing the same job function they had prior to injury
- The injury may prevent them from working for a period of a year or more
Once you have qualified for Social Security disability, it is best to contact a disability lawyer. One way to get in touch with a disability lawyer in your area is to fill out and submit the “Contact Us” form on this screen.
What Can A Disability Lawyer Do for Me?
With an average of one million people receiving Social Security disability in Louisiana, over two thirds of first time applicants are still being denied. A disability lawyer will ensure your paperwork is done correctly to qualify for disability the first time around.
In most cases once a person becomes eligible for disability, with the help of a lawyer, the lawyer will typically charge for their services once a successful verdict or settlement has been made.
Need help? Fill out and submit the “Contact Us” form for more information – It’s 100% FREE
What is the Compensation?
The typical Social Security disability compensation rages from $1,100-$2,487 per month depending on your situation. The compensation is as follows:
- $1,100 for disabled workers
- $1,185 for widowers or widows over 60 years of age
- $1,320 for retirees
- $1,878 for a disabled worker with a spouse and children
- $2,487 for a widowed mother with two children
- $2,487 maximum allowed monthly for retiring worker over 66 years of age
In most cases, law firms will provide free case evaluations to determine if you are eligible to receive Social Security disability benefits. To find out if you are eligible for these benefits in Louisiana, fill out the “Contact Us” form on this page. It’s completely FREE.